top of page


Thanks to our interviewees for being apart of the Project Uni journey!



A Health Studies Student From Waterloo

Hello everyone! My name is Safaa I am in my 3 rd year at UW, studying Health Studies with a minor in gerontology. I am quite passionate about public health and neuroscience in the context of the aging population. In my free time I like to paint or draw or learn about skincare. Feel free to message me on Instagram (@safaaayaseen) if you have any questions about Health Studies or UWaterloo in general!

Check out my interview for Waterloo's Health Studies program, here.



An Environmental & Urban Change Student From York

Hi everyone!!! My name is Sofia Colalillo. I am a second-year student in the Environmental and Urban Change Faculty (EUC). I am doing a double major in environmental Arts and Justice and Education and minoring in Psychology ���� ��. I am particularly interested in how I can foster a new mindset that allows me to grow my connection to our Planet Earth while learning new ways to put earth first. I am also interested in how I can take that mindset and apply it in my future career as a teacher where I can give my students opportunities for their connection to grow with our planet. When I am not studying, I volunteer my time as a Peer Mentor at our faculty. If you have any questions about EUC, resources that are available through York University or want to know about student life as an EUC student feel free to contact me at or through Instagram @sofiacolalillo !

Check out my interview for York's Environmental & Urban Change program, here.



A Co-Op Health Studies Student From Waterloo

Hi there! My name is Xenia Kwan and I am a fourth-year co-op student pursuing Health Studies and a minor in Psychology at the University of Waterloo. I am highly involved at Waterloo through volunteering in a variety of leadership roles and I am passionate about student engagement and student support through peer mentorship. My hobbies include salsa dancing, listening to R&B/Soul music, and trying new restaurants, and I am currently working towards becoming a Registered Psychotherapist. Feel free to connect with me over email or LinkedIn if you would like to chat about my experiences or anything else!

Check out my interview for Waterloo's Co-Op Health Studies program, here.

83886512_194006358492838_1488266377821514759_n(1) - Copy.jpg


A Genetics and Business Student From UofM

Hello! My name is Emily Kalo and I am a third-year undergraduate student at the University of Manitoba pursuing a major in Genetics and a minor in business. I am currently involved in the University Senate, Science Students association, Commerce Students association and other student clubs on my campus. I have gained so much value from information and advice I have received from students older than me or further along their academic careers. My hope is that the insight I have provided Project Uni will do the same for younger aspiring students. Please reach out via LinkedIn, Instagram, or Facebook if you have any questions!

Check out my interview for UofM's Genetics and Business program, here.



A Sociology and Rhetoric Writing Student From the University of Winnipeg

Hey there! My name is Sharee Hochman and I am in my fourth and final year as a double major student at the University of Winnipeg, studying Sociology and Rhetoric Writing and Communications. With the knowledge I gained about social dynamics and operations within Sociology and my experience with writing to inform audiences within Communications, I grew a great passion for sharing current events, public policies, and social concerns. This passion led me into my current role as a Volunteer Social Issues Writer with the online publication platform INKspire and in my current internship working within communications with the United Nations Urban Economy Forum. In my free time, I am typically working on my side project in developing an online publication and educational platform called She Breaks it Down, a space dedicated for woman to discuss theories and actions on social innovation. As someone who is driven to create conversations regarding social change, my aspiration is to take my skills abroad and learn about other countries initiatives in social innovation. If you are interested in reading more about my work in social innovation, check out my personal website which links to all my published works at Additionally, feel free to contact me at or through Instagram @shareehoch for any tips and tricks in exploring the communications world, travel, or just for a friendly conversation!

Check out my interview for Winnipeg's Sociology and Rhetoric Writing program, here.



A System Design Student From Waterloo

Hey I'm Jocelyne! I'm a first year Systems Design Engineering Student at the University of Waterloo. Feel free to reach out to me on LinkedIn if you want to chat about University (especially the online first-year experience), social good and charity work, or just about life!

Check out my interview for Waterloo's System Design program, here.



A Recreation and Leisure Student From Brock

Hi everyone! My name is Ben and I am a 2 nd year Recreation and Leisure student at Brock University. Some personal hobbies of mine include snowboarding, American football, and video games. Some advice I want to give to all students entering post-secondary is do what is best for you and not what others say you should do. On top of that, make sure to get involved with something that you are interested in and passionate about, during your time at university. For me, this was joining a fraternity, where we focus on changing the stigma around fraternities, and focus on philanthropy work, which gives back the community. For any questions, feel free to message me directly at my Instagram which is linked above.

Check out my interview for Brock's Recreation and Leisure program, here.

Simran Mahal Project Uni Image (1).jpg


An Honours Health Studies Student From Waterloo

Hi Everyone! My name is Simran and I’m a second year Health Studies Student. I really enjoy my program and find it interesting. I would recommend it if you are interested in pursuing a BSc in health sciences that focuses on both the scientific and social aspects of health. If you have any questions, feel free to email me at

Check out my interview for Waterloo's Health Studies program, here.



A Kinesiology Student From Waterloo

Hi there! My name is Emily Granger and I am currently in my last year of the Honours Kinesiology Co-op program at the University of Waterloo. I am a kin kid to my core and will happily take about kin and life with just about anyone. I have been involved with respiratory research, and had the extraordinary opportunity to author a few papers. If you are interested in Waterloo, below are some items I have been involved with;

Check out my interview for Waterloo's Kinesiology program, here.


An Accounting and Finance Student From Ryerson

Leesa Panchal is a second-year Accounting and Finance student at Ryerson University. She plans on majoring in accounting and pursuing a minor in law. She is currently the Co-Chief Executive Officer alongside Chiddhanya Alagesan. Her primary job is to oversee the function of the bridges team and implement the organization’s vision and mission. She strives to better the outreach of bridges and the impact that has on first-year university students. Outside of school and bridges, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends, dancing and nature. Leesa has experience from a plethora of environments, including academic and non-academic, which all require different skills and strengths. She’s open to any questions or inquiries, so please feel free to reach out and message her!

Check out my interview for Ryerson's Accounting and Finance program